A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z #

Danger Zone

Danger Zone City Bologna
Country Italy
WEB http://www.dangerzoneweb.com

It’s been a very long time coming since guitarist Roberto Priori started the Italian band DANGER ZONE in the early 80s. The band recorded various demos and went through serveral line-up changes during the following years. In 1984 they released “Victim Of Time” on vinyl, but it wasn’t until 1987 when they gained bigger attention in Italy from audiences and media alike, followed by live performances on some Hard Rock festivals.

In the spring of 1988 DANGER ZONE eventually opened up for Heavy Metal legends Saxon in Verona, Italy and following the performance promoter and manager Francesco Sanavio offered DANGER ZONE a production deal. The plan was to break into the US market with an album recorded on an highly professional international standard.

To get a first taste of the American Rock scene the band tested the waters on the US shores with a successful gig at the Whiskey A Go Go in Los Angeles in the summer of ‘88.

Almost a year later in May 1989 the album began to take shape when executive producer Stephan Galfas, who had previously produced albums by Meat Loaf, Savatage, Stryper, John Waite and Saxon, got involved and his colleagues Jody Gray and Mark Cobrin, both successful with the Japanese Hard Rock outfits Loudness and EZO, took over the production duties. From June to October 1989 the recording sessions took place in Venice, Italy with the mix to be handled by Stephan Galfas in New York City with Noah Baron (Winger, Blackfoot) and Mark Cobrin.

The songs for the album "Line Of Fire" were chosen from the DANGER ZONE demos with some new tunes being written for the record as well. The band also recorded a Hard Rockin’ version of the T. Rex classic "Children of the Revolution" and business reasons led them to record two more cover versions, "That’s Why I Fell In Love With You" by Country singer Eddie Rabbitt and "Let Me Rock" from the 1984 one-off release by Chequered Past, a band featuring singer Michael Des Barres,  ex-Sex Pistol Steve Jones and Blondie’s rhythm section.
The band members own compositions showed their great talent to write catchy Melodic Rock songs with a harder edge with equally great instrumental performances of Roberto Priori on lead guitar, Stefano Peresson on guitars and keyboards, Stefano Gregori on bass and Paolo Palmieri on drums.

The rough vocals of Giacomo Gigantelli fit tracks like "State Of The Heart", "Hardline", "Love Dies Hard" and "Fingers" perfectly. On the latter one singer and model Grace Jones can be heard doing background vocals.

Following the studio recordings DANGER ZONE began rehearsing for live shows and the guys prepared their move to Los Angeles. But due to endless negotiations with an US label the band began to fall apart and money started to run short, forcing the remaining band members to sell part of their   equipment to finally make it across the ocean. When DANGER ZONE finally started to build up a good reputation by touring the Club circuit in Southern California for several months the L.A. scene was hit very hard by the Grunge wave, forcing DANGER ZONE to give up their big dream, call it quits and return home to Italy.

As the years went by "Line Of Fire" reached an underground cult status when Rock magazines fanzines and dedicated fans of the band continuously demanded its release.

Finally in 2011 the "Line Of Fire" CD saw the light of day through Avenue Of Allies, carefully remastered from the original source by Roberto Priori and packaged as a Special Limited Edition.

The band already got back together in 2010 working on new material and rehearsing for live shows. During 2011 the guys worked continuously on new songs and played several gigs in Italy.
Before original DANGER ZONE band members Roberto Priori (guitars), Paolo Palmieri (drums) and Giacomo Gigantelli (vocals) entered the studio they added new bassist Roberto Galli to their line-up.

Out of the 15 demos they did, 12 were picked to be recorded for the upcoming album. Most of them newly written songs, but also a few reworkings of previously unreleased tunes from the period after the “Line Of Fire” recordings.
First sessions took place in Roberto’s PriStudio in Bologna, followed by a trip of singer Giacomo Gigantelli to New York, where he met Jody Gray, one of the key members of the production team of the “Line Of Fire” album more than 20 years ago. The two worked on the lyrics for the songs and also Grammy award winning composer Don Rollins added his writing skills to two tunes.

During the fall and winter of 2011 / 2012 the work on the record continued on both sides of the Atlantic with Jody Gray adding various details to the arrangements and assisting Roberto Priori for the vocal production.

After the recording sessions were completed Roberto mixed and mastered the album in the spring of 2012 and the guys decided to call their work “Undying”.
Full of catchy melodies and powerful guitar riffs and firmly build on DANGER ZONE’s musical roots of the 80s while adding a slightly modern edge and using today’s state-of-the-art production techniques, “Undying” brings out the very best of the band members and the production team, a big anthemic Melodic Hard Rock album to die for.



Albums (2)
Songs (22)
# SONG Album
1 Line Of Fire Line Of Fire
2 Children Of The Revolution Line Of Fire
3 Walk Away Line Of Fire
4 Fingers Line Of Fire
5 State Of The Heart Line Of Fire
6 Hardline Line Of Fire
7 The Hunger Line Of Fire
8 Let Me Rock Line Of Fire
9 That’s Why I Fell In Love With You Line Of Fire
10 Love Dies Hard Line Of Fire
11 Undying Undying
12 I To I Undying
13 Half A Chance Undying
14 Paralyzed Undying
15 Hottest Fire Undying
16 Falling Up Undying
17 Desire Undying
18 Goin' On Undying
19 More Heaven Than Hell Undying
20 Stand Up Undying

Featured Albums